Need Honest Opinion On Dealing With Customer

Business By that1luckystar Updated 3 Jul 2012 , 5:16pm by Cherylc418

that1luckystar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
that1luckystar Posted 30 Jun 2012 , 4:23am
post #1 of 27

I am a home baker that bakes about 3 cakes a week plus cake pops and other cakes. I do take pride in my work and consider it an art. Today I had a customer who wanted a cake several weeks ago for today. We had been camping in the Sequoias and woke up at 6 in the morning to drive 6 hours home in order to make this order happen. Not the customers concern but shows that i care about quality and didnt freeze my cake ahead of time. The customer wanted a red velvet belly cake for a baby shower plus a dozen vanilla cupcakes and a dozen lemon cupcakes. All the cakes where made from scratch that day, three cakes from scratch and 3 fillings. I charged the customer $80 for everything and delivered the cake 15 miles from my house and waited 25 minutes for them to show up.

The customer left an Email this evening saying that they felt frankly ripped off, that the cake would not feed enough people. In previous talks I told him that the cake an 8" sphere and 2 4" spheres would feed 25 and needed to feed 60 people so they decided to order 2 dozen, they did the math not me. Looking back frankly I think I under charged just in the nice cake board and fondant it was about $15 probably we probably made $25 max for 3 hours worth of work. I emailed the customer back explaining our pricing and that everything was with quality, where would you more experienced go with this, offer free product or tell them to pack sand?

26 replies
SoFloGuy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SoFloGuy Posted 30 Jun 2012 , 5:57am
post #2 of 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by that1luckystar

, offer free product or tell them to pack sand?