Having A Lot Of Fondant Trouble Help Please

Decorating By Pearl645 Updated 29 Jun 2012 , 10:40pm by Pearl645

Pearl645 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pearl645 Posted 29 Jun 2012 , 7:48pm
post #1 of 7

What does humidity do to fondant? It is blistering hot today and I am melting and my fondant is tearing. Plain white homemade fondant with no food colouring. I have made the fondant twice today and had to dump the 1st batch. Bear in mind I have been making fondant for 3 yrs now. I have reached the stage where the fondant is pulling apart as it should which is how I test when it is ready to be rolled out and applied but today for some strange reason my fondant is very sticky. It is showing the regular signs when pulling apart of fondant that has enough sugar yet it is sticky in my hands. Is this due to the humidity? I used chocolate ganache on my cakes and it came out beautiful but my fondant is tearing at the top of the square cakes. I'm just going to a cake store now to buy ready-made fondant. Feeling devastated. Seeing $$ going down the drain and the cake is due tom lunch time and I'm working on sugar flowers. Any advice on how to deal with this the next time?

6 replies
Pearl645 Posted 29 Jun 2012 , 8:01pm
post #2 of 7

The only fondant I can get is wilton ready to use white rolled fondant. Frightened to buy it cuz of all the bad reviews I have seen online.

rgraboski Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rgraboski Posted 29 Jun 2012 , 8:29pm
post #3 of 7

Hi Pearl -