Keep Trying Or Close Business...maybe Just For Now?

Business By bfranzen Updated 5 Jul 2012 , 10:34pm by ymmat77

bfranzen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bfranzen Posted 29 Jun 2012 , 2:03am
post #1 of 9

I've had a licensed kitchen for 3 years and sell "to order" and at the farmer's market--mostly cinnamon rolls, coffee cakes, brownies, lots of cookies and then orders for cakes and all the other stuff listed above. Here's my situation/problem:

I have 3 little girls at home--18 months, 4, and almost 9 and I also teach private piano lessons two-three days a week after school til about 6 pm. (I've been doing this for 9 years and it is very consistent and decent income).

I feel like I'm at a crossroads and need to decide if it is worth it being in business any longer--at least for now. My baking business is taking time away from my family and I'm not making much. I know that some people will say charge more but my small community already needs convincing about custom cakes, let alone a higher price tag. I can't afford much, if any, advertising and although people who have had my cakes and other stuff rave about them, word of mouth advertising has only resulted in a few orders here and there. There really hasn't been a bakery in our area for a long time, so people are used to going to Walmart and the grocery store for baked goods. It seems like people want to just be able to pick things up at a store, rather than order from a custom bakery. I typically sell out at farmer's market within a couple of hours, but baking all day the day before and getting up at 5 am with all three girls on Saturday and heading to market is stressful to say the least.