What Is Your Go To Buttercream Recipe For Cupcakes?

Baking By karukaru Updated 5 Jun 2012 , 6:12am by scp1127

karukaru Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karukaru Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 3:17am
post #1 of 10

Hello everyone!
I normally use indydebi's crusting Buttercream for cakes but I am not liking it so much for cupcakes. I need to do 36 cupcakes for a babyshower on Sunday. The cupcakes will have Fondant accent so the bc will have to work well with Fondant. I am thinking that a non-crusting bc is probably better but I'm not sure. Any thoughts?

9 replies
SoFloGuy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SoFloGuy Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 3:36am
post #2 of 10

This is my go to recipe for all my buttercream frosting, but I am an amateur newbie. I found the recipe online.

1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups confectioners' sugar
A few teaspoons milk until you find the consistency you like.

for chocolate 3/4 cup cocoa or 3 1oz chocolate squares and a little extra milk if needed.

Pinch of fine popcorn salt can cut sweetness, I've read that shortening also cuts out some of the sweetness as opposed to all butter.

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 3:42am
post #3 of 10

Any of the European buttercreams plus cream cheese with just butter, no shortening ever in any product. Well, I do have two exceptions... Oreo and Classic Whoopie, but shortening is used in the original recipes and these are supposed to be authentic.

Osgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Osgirl Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 4:16am
post #4 of 10

2 sticks butter
4 cups powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp milk (or a little more depending on your desired consistency).

I love this and always use it for buttercream.

karukaru Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 2:07pm
post #5 of 10

Scp1127 and Osgirl,