Did You Go To School For That?

Business By Norasmom Updated 7 Jul 2012 , 8:02pm by HamSquad

Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 12:43am
post #1 of 28

How many of you bakers out there have professional schooling in cake decorating and/or baking? I am self-taught but have always been crafty and creative. I am wondering because so many people ask me if I went to some sort of school to learn decorating. If one considers youtube schooling, then yes, I went to school. icon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gif

27 replies
AmysCakesNCandies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmysCakesNCandies Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 12:54am
post #2 of 28

I have a degree in art, but never went to cullinary school. I learned baking & the basics of decorating on the job working for a bakery during college. I've always been handy in the kitchen & creative so my cake business is a perfect blend of those.

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 4:51am
post #3 of 28

Business degree but all baking and decorating are self-taught.

vgcea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vgcea Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 5:31am
post #4 of 28

Taking a few classes in the Pastry Arts program at the local college. Haven't taken anything cake-specific yet so I can't say how useful it would be to my 'caking.' We'll see. Everything up until this point has been gleaned from self-study and asking LOADS of questions.

carmijok Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carmijok Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 6:00am
post #5 of 28

Completely self-taught. But I learned by working at a bakery and watching the decorators. Several months after leaving I made a Tiffany box cake for my SIL and the rest is history. I was hooked.

rosech Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rosech Posted 4 Jun 2012 , 9:46am
post #6 of 28