I Need Some Help On Prices Please....

Decorating By beth78148 Updated 15 May 2012 , 2:40am by beth78148

beth78148 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beth78148 Posted 13 May 2012 , 3:39am
post #1 of 7

I have started making cakes within this past year... I took a few basic Wilton courses and the rest is self taught!! I don't know what to charge so if anyone out there can help me through this I would REALLY appreciate it!! I make a lot of stacked cakes with decorations that take some time to do. Some people tell me to charge a whole lot and others tell me not too. I have made cakes that take hours to make, I don't want to overcharge, but don't want to short change myself for all my hard work. So, what would you charge for a stacked cake with fondant figures on it, like a lion, elephant, giraffe and zebra?? What would you charge for a full sheet, 1/2 sheet, 1/4 sheet. What to charge for cupcakes is another question?? Please someone help me through this so I can give prices to people when they ask and not go ummm, not sure yet, it just depends on what you want on there... Thanks for taking the time to read my note and helping me out!! Have a blessed day!
~ Thanks, Beth (HAPPY CAKES!!) icon_biggrin.gif

6 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 13 May 2012 , 3:44am
post #2 of 7

1. Find out if you can legally sell cakes in your area from your home kitchen or if you will need a rented commercial kitchen
2. Put together a business plan including what type of products you will make, who you will sell them to, and about how much it will cost to make them (including ingredients, labor, and overhead)
3. Add a profit margin to get your minimum sale price, then check that with market prices to see if you need to lower your price (which would require cutting costs) or increase your price
4. Put together a web site and implement advertising based on the marketing strategy in your business plan

MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile