Trying To Decide If It's Worth It To Start A Business...

Business By laura4795 Updated 27 Apr 2012 , 6:35pm by costumeczar

laura4795 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
laura4795 Posted 26 Apr 2012 , 8:41pm
post #1 of 5

Up to this point I have been a pure hobbyist with my cakes. I have never charged a dime for anything including ingredients. After making a wedding cake (the reception was at a private location, so no need for a licensed baker) as a gift, I have had many people ask why I don't start up a business.

I have been very reluctant to do so for several reasons. In my state it is very difficult to start a home business. To get a license I would have to rent space. I also have NO idea how much to charge for cakes. It hardly seems worth it for the hours I put into one.

For starters, how much would I have to charge for this wedding cake I did (the tiers are 10", 8" & 6")? If I have to rent a space would it even be cost effective?

I also live in a rural town about an hour from any metropolitan area. I really think this affects what prices people will pay.
LL

4 replies
JamAndButtercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JamAndButtercream Posted 26 Apr 2012 , 9:58pm
post #2 of 5

I wish there was a simple yes or no answer to this, but I'm afraid there's not.
There are so many things you have to consider, regarding the cost of cakes you have to consider the ingredients, cost of any new equipment you had to buy to make the cake, cost of energy (electric/gas), cost of cake boards/pegs/boxes, the cost of your time gone into the cake, cost of the amount of servings in the cake, delivery, etc.

With regards to renting a space, it would prove worth while if you generated enough business to cover the rent of the space.

You really have to sit down and calculate everything, and research things a bit more.

Hope that helps! icon_smile.gif

laura4795 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
laura4795 Posted 27 Apr 2012 , 3:50am
post #3 of 5