Cake Tasting Question-I'm A Newbie

Business By rpd923 Updated 27 Apr 2012 , 1:51pm by QTCakes1

rpd923 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rpd923 Posted 26 Apr 2012 , 3:02pm
post #1 of 13

I have many years experience in special occasion cakes, cupcakes and desserts with a great customer base. As far as wedding experience though, I've only worked with friends or family. I have my first wedding customer that is a stranger and was asked to do a tasting for her wedding which will be for a 3D cake and 200 cupcakes. I'm fully capable and qualified to handle the order itself. I agreed and completely understand the desire to taste my product. However, the bride emailed me a list of 9 cake flavors and 13 frosting flavors to try from my flavor list!

What is the normal and reasonable practice since I'm not used to this. Where do I draw the line? I'm a licensed in-home custom baker. I do not freeze my cakes and I don't have a bakery case full of stuff to just pull from and lay in front of her. Suggestions for a first-time cake tasting?

12 replies
GGFan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GGFan Posted 26 Apr 2012 , 3:25pm
post #2 of 13

That's an exciting orders!! I don't have much experience with that but from what I read here. Some provide free tasting for up to 4 flavors and then charge beyond that. Maybe you could tell her that and because she has to pay. I think she would try to narrow it down.

Or Do you have any near future orders that will have the flavor she chose? Maybe you could ask her to pick it up when you have those flavors and just make a little taster for her with some left over batter or filling from that order. Given that you would have enough time to finalize her order of course.

Try search in the forum here there are a lot of topic that talks about tasting
HTH & Good Luck icon_smile.gif

brenda549 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brenda549 Posted 26 Apr 2012 , 3:34pm
post #3 of 13