So Irritated Right Now! (Rant)

Business By HappyCake10609 Updated 30 Apr 2012 , 12:55am by sherrycanary62

HappyCake10609 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HappyCake10609 Posted 24 Apr 2012 , 8:03pm
post #1 of 24

Okay, let me start by saying yes, I AM a legal baker. I rent a kitchen, I am licensed by the health department, I have insurance.... In my state, in most towns home baking is legal under a "homestead" license, but last year when I was starting my business I learned that my town is one of the few who are "self-inspected" and don't allow home food business... But because it's okay in most towns there aren't a lot of rental kitchens around... I have to drive 40 minutes to get to the kitchen I rent. I took the time to do my research, paid all the fees (instead of a $50 homestead license, I had to pay a $300 fee to get licensed as a caterer!) pay for insurance, blah blah blah....

The reason I'm so irritated is because even though I've taken the time and spent the money to operate illegally, I still had my town's code enforcement officer stop by today! Why? Because a neighbor claimed that I'm running a prolific cupcake business from my home?! I'm pretty sure I know what neighbor is was- I live in a 3 family home, I'm on the 2nd of 3 floors... the complaint was that I bake SO much it heats their house causing them to have to run an AC in the summer icon_confused.gif That leads me to believe it is my upstairs neighbor... (do you not realize that you're on the 3rd flipping floor and it's naturally hot in the summer?) I'm so irritated by this blatant attack on my business! Luckily I have all the paperwork necessary to prove I'm a legal business and the code enforcement officer was more than satisfied.