Newbie Seeking Help!

Decorating By arual379 Updated 23 Apr 2012 , 7:26pm by ButRCream

arual379 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
arual379 Posted 23 Apr 2012 , 6:31pm
post #1 of 7

Hi All,

I am brand new to these forums. My name is Laura, I am 23, and enjoy cake decorating at a basic level. My cake decorating skills are a bit "old fashioned" as my mom taught me how to ice with Wilton cake pans and tips, so please keep that in mind when you answer my question.

I am trying to make a cake shaped like a bus (a bus from my university) for my boyfriends graduation. I have tried to attach a picture below.

Please..how would I do this? I assume I would make sheet cakes, layer them, and try to carve the indent for the windshield. Do you freeze a cake to make it carve well? Every time I try it just crumbles.

Also, I have never used fondant before, but considered using fondant to frost this case. However, since I haven't used it before, and I really dont want to mess it up, maybe just using "stars" and hand starring the whole thing would be easier. Any thoughts?

I know this is a much more basic question that you are all used to, so thank you for helping me get started!
LL

6 replies
ButRCream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ButRCream Posted 23 Apr 2012 , 6:53pm
post #2 of 7