*beginner* How To Increase Pricing As Decorating Improves?

Business By -frosted- Updated 7 Apr 2012 , 1:35pm by Nancy_TX

-frosted- Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-frosted- Posted 5 Apr 2012 , 4:46pm
post #1 of 14

I am new to cake decorating and recently starting selling my cakes. Since I am a beginner, I don't feel as though I can justify charging competitive prices for my cakes, as they are not as neat and perfect as I would like just yet! However, as my cake decorating improves, how do I increase my prices when quoting for existing customers? (You can check out my photos for an idea of what my cakes look like atm) Also, how do I know when my cakes are good enough to charge prices that are comparable with others in the area?
Thanks for your help! icon_smile.gif

13 replies
Moovaughan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Moovaughan Posted 5 Apr 2012 , 5:02pm
post #2 of 14

I took a look at your photos and I don't see why you think you should charge a lower price. I'm suprised you are a beginning, your cakes look very clean and pretty smooth so I don't think you should penalize yourself.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 5 Apr 2012 , 5:13pm
post #3 of 14

Agreed, you are ready to start charging competitive prices for your cakes, just make sure you figure out your prices based on both your costs and what your local market will bear.

If you need to increase prices just increase them, we raise our prices 5-10% a year to cover inflation. When existing customers ask why the price is now higher, we just tell them our costs have gone up.

-frosted- Posted 6 Apr 2012 , 3:57pm
post #4 of 14

thank you for the compliments icon_smile.gif
but I must admit that I do try to hide my mistakes when taking photos of my cakes :$, I take photos at angles that don't show the stretch marks or the small tear in the corner lol