What Has Really Angered Me Over The Years

Lounge By sweetlayers Updated 4 Apr 2012 , 9:09pm by zespri

sweetlayers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetlayers Posted 3 Apr 2012 , 1:21am
post #1 of 9

For 5 years I ran a cake decorating business and worked a full time job and worked on a Master's degree. Finally, I graduated, got a better full time gig and no longer have to rely on cake money for extra income. As a matter of fact, for the most part, i don't do cakes anymore at all.

My spouse, during all my time of hard work in helping support our family while bettering myself and getting a higher paying job, has not lifted his finger to do anything! He has complained very often about how I had a lot of work to do and didn't have time to be his personal assistant over the years and do things like iron his clothes, etc. However, in general, he never supported me and sometimes it seemed like he wanted me to fail.

Anyways, over the years, I think I have developed a deep level of resentment that continues to brew and spills over every so often when things are a little off kilter now a days. I think that because we still have some financial stuff we are dealing with and he seems to never come up with a viable solution to make it better, it angers me. It seems like he is lazy, clueless and not ambitious or even unintelligent when it comes to providing our family. However, when I try to make it better, he complains the entire time.

Not sure if I am asking for advice or just venting. I really need my financial freedom back and I don't know how to do that and still preserve this "marriage".

icon_sad.gif

8 replies
debidehm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debidehm Posted 3 Apr 2012 , 1:35am
post #2 of 9

Hmmm. I think I would start doing cakes again, and stop doing the husband icon_twisted.gif

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 3 Apr 2012 , 2:25am
post #3 of 9

Have you been to a marriage counselor?