I Need The Right Tools...

Decorating By Dr_Hfuhruhurr Updated 16 Mar 2012 , 6:00am by karateka

Dr_Hfuhruhurr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dr_Hfuhruhurr Posted 16 Mar 2012 , 12:23am
post #1 of 8

I have an important cake coming up for my brother's wedding, and I need to make a lot of figurines and small details. I don't have any concerns about the actual sculpting, as I've been a FIMO hobbyist for a long time. However, my previous experience with fondant and gumpaste has me worried more about the fundamentals.

Specifically, how does anyone sculpt with this stuff without it drying out? My experience with Satin Ice brand fondant and gumpaste is that it begins to dry out and crack after very limited exposure to the air... so I have to cover cakes pretty quickly. When I'm sculpting, I like to take a lot of time with details.

So... Is there a particular brand of fondant or gumpaste that works best?

Alternatively, is it possible to just use homemade MMF? I have a recipe I really like, but I'm assuming tylose powder or some other alterations would be required. Any tips? Also, if I go for homemade (which I'd really prefer) can someone please point me to a specific brand of food coloring for coloring fondant? I have never had any luck getting anything other than pastels when I try to color fondant.

Thanks very much for any help you can give!!!

7 replies
karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 16 Mar 2012 , 12:30am
post #2 of 8

What if you sculpt from modeling chocolate. You can take your time with details. The only issue is if you hold it for too long, it gets overwarm and too soft, so you'd have to stop every so often and work on another piece while that one cools.

You'd need candy colors (fat soluble) to color that.

dawnybird Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dawnybird Posted 16 Mar 2012 , 12:51am
post #3 of 8