I'm New! Please Help Me With My Son's Cake. Desperate.

Decorating By sweetblue00 Updated 13 Mar 2012 , 12:49am by Spuddysmom

sweetblue00 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetblue00 Posted 12 Mar 2012 , 9:15pm
post #1 of 5

Hello everyone! I'm a newbie at this, although I did used to decorate cakes all of the time with my grandmother when I was younger, I just don't remember everything she did. My son will be one in about a week and his party is after that and I am making the cake. I have a few questions, but first the details.

It will be a two tier cake, covered in white marshmallow fondant, and adorned with a few figures in an underwater/sailor theme. I thought I might make the figures with a mixture of fondant and gum paste, because I've *heard* that is a good way to ensure they don't mess up.

I'm also covering a few Oreos with white chocolate, but I want to dye the chocolate...Is this possible? Would it be absolutely *necessary* to temper the chocolate if I use bakers chocolate? And I want to pipe little fish on them, what should I use? Can I do white chocolate again or ... royal icing? That is the first question.

The others:
1. How far in advance can I make the fondant, bake the cakes, etc, even make the figurines before his party on Sunday without it going bad?
2. Is marshmallow fondant effective/reliable for making figurines?
3. I will need wire for the cake I have in mind for a few accent pieces, is there any sort of special wire I need?
4. What is a good, tasty, easy cake recipe, reliable and durable for this kind of cake building?

I know I am new to this forum and probably don't understand the mechanics of how it's supposed to work so thank you for your patience in helping me out! If you see anything wrong with my plans please tell me! I just want my son's birthday to go smoothly.

4 replies
Karema Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karema Posted 12 Mar 2012 , 10:05pm
post #2 of 5