Any Ideas On What I Did Wrong?

Decorating By Mae_mom Updated 5 Mar 2012 , 1:04pm by Mae_mom

Mae_mom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mae_mom Posted 2 Mar 2012 , 1:39pm
post #1 of 5

Ok, I'm no expert at making cakes, but I've done some. I'm just a small, on the side kind of caker doing about 80 cakes a year. But this one from this past weekend was a total flop and I have no idea what I did wrong.

No recipes were different; same cake; same buttercream; same fillings; same fondant. All methods were the same; same temperatures; same everything!

It was a 2 tiered cake. When I applied the fondant onto the bottom tier, all went well. Great - let's move on to the top tier. Instant disaster. The fondant kept bubbling up all over the place while the buttercream underneath kept suddenly sliding off of the cake causing the tier to have this flared out look. As I tried to smooth it, it would just squish out the bottom. Before I knew it, there was no icing at the top portions of the sides of the cake and these areas were all puffing up with air! I was having fits!! No idea what was going on! When I finally was about to throw in the towel, I looked at the bottom tier and it was doing the same thing! It wasn't to the extent as the top tier but it was there!

Why on Earth did my buttercream react this way when it never has before? My fondant is rolled very thin so it's not like it's too heavy or anything; besides, it was the same fondant techniques I use on every other cake.

The gal ended up loving it; even hugged me for it. icon_smile.gif But in the back of my mind all I can think is "can she not see that horrible thing??"

I've never seen anything like this. I could just stand and stare at the thing and watch it morph before my very eyes. All when it's due to be delivered in a matter of hours down to minutes.

Any thoughts?

4 replies
ddaigle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ddaigle Posted 2 Mar 2012 , 2:00pm
post #2 of 5