How Do I Get My Fondant Tier From Showing Its Two Layers???

Decorating By Nutmeg84 Updated 28 Feb 2012 , 5:39pm by CWR41

Nutmeg84 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nutmeg84 Posted 27 Feb 2012 , 3:47pm
post #1 of 10

Hi! My name is Nutmeg! Im new to the whole Forum thing so bare with me~ lol Im also a newby to the whole cake thing....I have a new business called Confectionary Creations in an area that doesnt offer anything like it. I offer fondant and buttercream cakes of their own imagination. Everyone has just run to the corner market and gotten a sheet cake from the store bakery. I have make Mickey Mouse Clubhouse Cakes, Bottoms Up Baby Shower Cakes and even one Wedding Cake. It started as a hobby for family birthdays and occations, but has evolved into a full fledged buisiness. Anyway, the more popular my name becomes, the more I want to perfect what Im doing...to actually KNOW what Im doing! lol The questions I have been trying to get answered is.......HOW IN THE WORLD can I stack a two layer tier without the Marshmallow fondant showing that it is a two layer cake. The MMfondant shows the crease in the middle of the two layers. I have tryed putting an extra layer of buttercream...then the MMFondant, and even a thicker batch of MMF, but nothing seems to work....Is it my fondant...my buttercream...the weather!?? I hope I described my problem good enough! I need help from someone who has been doing this longer than I have and KNOWS!!! HELP Thank you to any answer or Idea...and GOD BLESS for your time!!! icon_smile.gif

9 replies
cakestars Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakestars Posted 27 Feb 2012 , 4:09pm
post #2 of 10

mine used to do this as well icon_confused.gif what i do now is stack my tiers and crumb coat them the night before and let that settle. the next day (decorating day) i will put my final layer of buttercream on and then apply my mmf. hope this helps!

gbbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gbbaker Posted 27 Feb 2012 , 4:14pm