Question About Coloring Buttercream Frosting

Decorating By Sara716 Updated 23 Feb 2012 , 8:16pm by QuebecGirl

Sara716 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sara716 Posted 22 Feb 2012 , 6:21pm
post #1 of 6

I've never posted here, but I have a little problem that hopefully someone can help me out with.

I am not a professional baker, but I always bake the cakes for our family events, especially for my own children. My son's birthday is in two weeks, and I've been planning his cake. I was originally going to cover it in marshmallow fondant, which I've done before - It looks great, but I don't really like the taste of any fondant. Buttercream is so much better. Anyway, I was doing a test run last night to see how smooth I could get the buttercream. I used some of Wilton's coloring to tint it blue, but the frosting just looked - for lack of a better term - "grainy" to me. The coloring just didn't seem to blend completely. There were specks of white throughout. I sifted my sugar before adding it, so I don't think that could be the problem. Maybe I should have sifted it twice? The recipe I used called for 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening, 1 pound powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and 2 tablespoons milk. It tasted great and was smooth, but the coloring was just off.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

5 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 22 Feb 2012 , 6:33pm
post #2 of 6

Are you making a dark color and using alot of coloring?

If so, sometimes it will seperate out. It looks liquidy with color then solid sorta fat bits? You can add in a little more powder sugar or cornstarch to help bring it back together.

Also when making a dark color, start with a thicker icing than you really need.

Haimm01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Haimm01 Posted 22 Feb 2012 , 6:39pm
post #3 of 6