Different Pricing - Depends On Client??

Decorating By Panel7124 Updated 27 Feb 2012 , 4:48am by scp1127

Panel7124 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Panel7124 Posted 22 Feb 2012 , 11:48am
post #1 of 18

I've lately got some new clients (word of mouth), I know who they are and their financial situation. Let's say they are very rich. I still charged them my standard prices + upcharges for top notch ingredients if they ask for them but I'd charge the same upcharge to anybody else - rich or not. My friends tell me I'm silly and incredibly stupid not to charge them twice or thrice the standard per serving price and that they would spend the money elsewhere no matter what. Frankly, it'd be like stealing to me, I'd not feel comfortable with that and I'm still a beginner in fondant decorating. But I'm probably really stupid. What would you do? Thanks for your opinions!

17 replies
Ursula40 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ursula40 Posted 22 Feb 2012 , 11:59am
post #2 of 18

No way would I charge more, my prices are my prices, some cannot afford me, others could pay more, but why should they???? It would be unethical in my opinion

AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 22 Feb 2012 , 1:18pm
post #3 of 18

I agree. That just seems so wrong, and it would be very bad if it got around that you were doing that.

traci_doodle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
traci_doodle Posted 22 Feb 2012 , 1:44pm
post #4 of 18

Just because they're rich doesn't mean they give out their money for free without further thought! I agree with everybody else. Don't charge more! If I were that customer and I found out you were charging me and only me considerably more money, I'd be very upset and definitely find someone else to do my cakes.

MsGF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MsGF Posted 22 Feb 2012 , 1:48pm
post #5 of 18