Need Help Immediately With Smbc!!!!

Decorating By forheavenscake Updated 18 Feb 2012 , 12:09am by dynee

forheavenscake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
forheavenscake Posted 17 Feb 2012 , 6:13pm
post #1 of 11

I made a huge batch of Swiss Meringue Buttercream last night and it was PERFECTION! Put it in the fridge last night and then pulled it out about an hour or two ago. Started to re-whip it and it is just a curdled mess. . .put it back in the fridge for about 15 minutes and pulled it out again and noticed a very liquid substance on the top (melted butter maybe??). . .whipping it and it is not coming together. . .what happened????? Should I put it in the fridge longer than 15 minutes and try again?

I mean this stuff was perfect last night, I am SOOO upset. I need to start this wedding cake and really don't want to make another batch of icing.

10 replies
Goreti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Goreti Posted 17 Feb 2012 , 6:33pm
post #2 of 11

I'm no expert on SMBC since I have only started using it myself but I believe that it should reach room temperature before you start rewhipping it. It might have been too cold. Hopefully someone more experienced can advise you on how to save that batch. Good luck.

Goreti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Goreti Posted 17 Feb 2012 , 6:41pm
post #3 of 11