Strong, Firm Buttercream/frosting Recipes?

Decorating By myxstorie Updated 17 Feb 2012 , 5:33pm by kakeladi

myxstorie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
myxstorie Posted 17 Feb 2012 , 3:17pm
post #1 of 2

Hi all,

I'm new to cake decorating and to your wonderful forum, but let me say I love it! <3

I baked a couple of huge batches of cupcakes for Christmas and decorated them to give to my family and workmates, and have since had a family friend approach me about making a cake and some cupcakes for her son's birthday. Now, she's not someone I know, so I'm (hopefully understandably) rather nervous. I've decorated a couple of full-size cakes and a few batches of cupcakes, but nothing ever for money.

She wants a pirate-themed cake and cupcakes. My thoughts were to try and make a pirate ship for the cake itself, then frost all the cupcakes as if they were one large cake (as best I can, anyway) to look like the ocean surrounding it, then add some little fondant toppers like sharks fins, sea monsters, drowning pirates, stuff like that. I've had a go at making the toppers out of some left over fondant I had just for practice, and that seemed to go okay, and I've found the recipe on here for a really sturdy, carveable pound cake that should work for the ship, my only real worry now is the frosting.

The main thing I need is a frosting that will hold its shape well enough to form the peaks needed for the waves, and won't droop down too much into the small gaps there will inevitably be between the cupcakes. I understand a little droopage is most likely going to happen, because it won't have anything underneath it holding it up, but the few attempts at frosting I've made in the past have seemed thick enough in the bowl, but turned out to be far too runny once I've started piping.