Birthday Cake Pricing- "cake Packages"

Business By Tacy09 Updated 10 Feb 2012 , 6:02am by jason_kraft

Tacy09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tacy09 Posted 9 Feb 2012 , 4:03am
post #1 of 10

Hi, so I have been doing cakes for about 3 years now and things are going really good. I price per serving and this usually works out fine for weddings or other big events (like 50th anniversaries, ect) however for smaller birthdays it seems like pricing this way almost makes the ordering process more work for people. So I am trying to come up with different "packages" people can choose from ( I think this will make the whole process a little less painful for myself as well as the customer).

My question is would any of you mind sharing how you break down different "packages"...if you price this way? Im mostly curious to see how much work goes into each price point, if that makes sense!

Hopefully that makes some sort of sense!
Thanks so much

9 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 9 Feb 2012 , 5:29am
post #2 of 10

We use flat pricing for single tier cakes (i.e. most birthday cakes) and per-serving prices for multi-tier cakes, since as you've seen most people ordering smaller cakes are used to the flat price.

We don't really have "packages", we just have a starting price for a basic two layer BC cake with very simple decorations ($44 for 8" up to $119 for a half sheet), with custom decorations and premium flavors/fillings as upcharges.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 9 Feb 2012 , 4:37pm
post #3 of 10

Instead of doing the price per serving, just do the math for them.

You can say it is $3 per serving or you can say a 8in round cake (that serves 24) is $72.

I wouldn't try to make packages, just have a list of the cake sizes, how many servings they would get (or a range) and then the price of the cake as a whole.

jgifford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jgifford Posted 9 Feb 2012 , 5:04pm