Coloring Smbc And Imbc?

Decorating By Blueridgebuttercream Updated 10 Feb 2012 , 5:55am by KoryAK

Blueridgebuttercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Blueridgebuttercream Posted 9 Feb 2012 , 3:55am
post #1 of 11

A question for those of you who use IMBC or SMBC: I'm a beginner, so I was hoping that some of you who have more experience working with SMBC or IMBC could help me out.

I've been using Wilton gel colors, which work fine for me with American Buttercream, but they "bead" in the SMBC and don't want to mix in unless I use a mixer, which is fine if I'm only using one or two colors, but gets to be a real pain when I want to do a design with lots of colors. Plus, it mixes more air back into the frosting (or is that just because I'm impatient and mixing at too high a speed?)

Tips on getting the colors to blend, or is there a better coloring product I should use?

I doubt it makes a difference, but I've been using Martha Stewart's SMBC recipe.

Thanks!

10 replies
krae0057 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
krae0057 Posted 9 Feb 2012 , 4:01am
post #2 of 11

Because SMBC has so much butter in it, candy food coloring (oil-based) works best. Wilton makes them, as well as Americolor and other companies.

Blueridgebuttercream Posted 9 Feb 2012 , 4:11am
post #3 of 11

Thanks! Do you have a recommendation for where to buy it?

vgcea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vgcea Posted 9 Feb 2012 , 8:09am
post #4 of 11

Michaels and Hobby Lobby. Look on the candy aisle.

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 9 Feb 2012 , 3:26pm
post #5 of 11

I have read this so many times on CC, but I have never had a problem with gel colors. Are you sure you are completing the emulsification process? If you are experiencing spots of color, it would seem that the butter and the egg white mixture are not fully incorporated. Even though the buttercream is in buttercream form, it needs more mixing to get rid if the minute specks that have not homogenized.