Wholesale To Venue

Business By hamie Updated 3 Feb 2012 , 5:49pm by costumeczar

hamie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hamie Posted 3 Feb 2012 , 2:03am
post #1 of 7

I am in talks with a local venue & caterer to be the provider of cakes for their events. They will meet with the brides, conduct tastings, and collect all the money. I will take care of the cake and they will cut me a check.

They would like some sort of wholesale pricing. I have never done anything like this before. What kind of discount do you think is appropriate? Whatever I give is profit and I hate to give that up; but the increase in volume would more than make up the loss.

Also, I am a bit uncomfortable never speaking with the bride. When the bride leaves the tasting I have a very good picture in my head what the cake will look like. I know cake. Although the venue has been in business for decades, they don't know cake.

Their tasting policy is a bit different than mine. They take orders. I can imagine 15 different flavored cupcakes every weekend. Generally I offer butter, chocolate and whatever I was already making that weekend. Should I push to change their policy? Or should I adapt.

Of course, we will have a written contract spelling out all of the particulars. I would like some advice from anyone who has done something similar.

6 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 3 Feb 2012 , 2:18am
post #2 of 7

I'd be careful about this...How much do they want to discount? The venues that I had this kind of arrangement with always let me deal directly with the client. They'd give the client my information and send her to me, and I'd write up a contract the normal way. The payment was an agreed-upon price per serving that the venue and I agreed to, and they cut the check to me directly. The client had paid them as part of her wedding package, then they paid me.