First Timer Looking For Advice And Possible Mentor.

Business By simplysweetamy Updated 3 Feb 2012 , 6:57pm by AmysCakesNCandies

simplysweetamy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
simplysweetamy Posted 2 Feb 2012 , 10:11pm
post #1 of 10

Hello,

My name is Amy and I just started a cake business out of my home under the cottage food law in Michigan. I am calling myself simply sweet creations of Ludington MI. I have worked in bakeries for about 12 years and its time for me to start doing it for myself.

I am running the business thru cake boss software and am getting it for the most part.

what I am looking for is someone who is running a cake business from home who is willing to share tips and tricks of the trade. I excelled working for other people but doing it on my own gives me moments of total fear! I have the same fear Im sure all of us have had, I dont want to fail.

I am just getting started so I am currently working on my advertising, brochures, pricing guides etc.

anyone find great deals on marketing materials?

thanks so much for those who read and reply.

Amy icon_smile.gif

9 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 2 Feb 2012 , 10:28pm
post #2 of 10

For help on the business side (not cake-specific) SCORE is a great resource, they offer free local mentors.

http://www.score.org/

simplysweetamy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
simplysweetamy Posted 2 Feb 2012 , 10:32pm
post #3 of 10

Thanks for the link Jason! I will check it out!

BakedAlaska Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakedAlaska Posted 2 Feb 2012 , 11:04pm
post #4 of 10

Check out Vistaprint. I've had great luck with them.

Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 2 Feb 2012 , 11:27pm
post #5 of 10

Just read this website regularly and you will get all kinds of tips, even more than a mentor may provide, because so many awesome people contribute!

FullHouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FullHouse Posted 2 Feb 2012 , 11:33pm