A Few Question's... Please Help!

Baking By trishalynn0708 Updated 25 Jan 2012 , 6:17pm by Debbye27

trishalynn0708 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trishalynn0708 Posted 25 Jan 2012 , 11:48am
post #1 of 7

I am new to cookie decorating and have a few question's. I figured I would make 1 post with all of my question's.... I also just ordered the book "Cookie Sensations: Creative Designs for Every Occasion by
Meaghan Mountford" and am going to try the Americolor food color.. I have always used Wilton for my cake's I decorate with but I noticed that I used a lot of their color just to get the color I needed.. And I have heard great things about Americolor, really hope I like them!

1... After you put your flooded/piping frosting into a bag or a squeeze bottle, can you set those in the fridge or do you need to squeeze them back out into a container to store with plastic wrap over the top and a lid??

2... When it says to let your cookies dry over night.. Are these kept in an airtight container or do they actually mean to leave them out in the open air to dry all night long?? If so, won't the cookies get stale/hard??

And if anyone can give me any first time pointer's that I should know about before hand that would be great!!!

6 replies
Evoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Evoir Posted 25 Jan 2012 , 12:02pm
post #2 of 7

If you're using royal icing you need to squeeze out the RI, and cover it with cling film in a bowl, excluding any air. Before you use more, you need to remix it, and check the consistency before application. I do not refrigerate my RI.

soledad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soledad Posted 25 Jan 2012 , 3:19pm
post #3 of 7

Hi!!!! I hope these links help you.
lots of tutorials on it
http://www.karenscookies.net/

http://sweetopia.net/

On the third link try to go to those cookie decorators own blog some of them have very informative blogs.
I love cookie crazie, sweet sugar belle, cookie artisan