Question About Baking A Larger Cake And Using Gum Tex

Decorating By sweetnlow30 Updated 23 Jan 2012 , 10:27pm by dawnybird

sweetnlow30 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetnlow30 Posted 22 Jan 2012 , 3:10am
post #1 of 11

Hello icon_smile.gif

I have been a lurker for quite some time now and I just love this site! I have been baking cakes off and on as a hobby for a couple years now. I have been asked to make a large cake for my grandfather's 90th birthday next Saturday and and I am excited but a bit nervous to take on this task. I need the cake to feed about 40 people.
I am thinking about making two 9 X 13 pans and laying them side by side. I have three white box mixes that I am going to improve with butter, light cream and extra vanilla. I am wondering how long I should bake each pan and at what temperature? I will be using a box and a half of mix per pan and I also plan to use a homemade version of bake even strips. Would I need to use a flower nail as a heat core or will it bake fine without it? Of course I will bake one pan at a time.

I will also be using gum tex in my homemade marshmallow fondant for the first time to make little figures on the cake. How much gum tex should I knead into my fondant? Can I just use water as a "glue" to piece my figures together?

I really appreciate any help I can get so my first large cake is a success icon_smile.gif

10 replies
msthang1224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msthang1224 Posted 22 Jan 2012 , 3:26am
post #2 of 11

Hi

I think that you should follow the baking times on the box of your mix. I usually bake my cakes at 325 degrees. It really depends on your oven, You would have to determine that bc ovens are different. Yr oven might bake slower or faster than mines, so its hard to tell. What temp do you normally bake yr cakes on?

You could use a heating core like a flower nail, again it depends on your type of oven. I usually dont use a heating core for my 9x13 cakes but that works for me.