Fondant - Do You Make Your Own?

Decorating By Starter13 Updated 22 Jan 2012 , 8:51pm by LNW

Starter13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Starter13 Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 3:54am
post #1 of 16

Hello!

I am new to the baking and cake decorating world. I have practiced a lot but for some reason, no matter what fondant recipe I try - it always dries and cracks! I decided to buy some Satin Ice fondant and start decorating my cakes with that. I was wondering with members of this site, is that a common practice? I see all the beautiful cakes here and wonder if I am the only one copping out and not making my own ;/

Let me know icon_smile.gif

15 replies
sillywabbitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sillywabbitz Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 3:58am
post #2 of 16

Do you know that your poll isn't exactly a yes or no question. Would yes mean I make my own or I purchase? icon_smile.gif

I have done both. I purchase bright colors and make mmf when I need a lot of a pale color. I also prefer wilton for figures.

Starter13 Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 4:02am
post #3 of 16

Thanks so much for your quick response!

And Woops yes...Fixed the mistake. Thank you!

cashley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cashley Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 4:05am
post #4 of 16

If your fondant is drying and cracking you probably added too much powdered sugar to it. You can add some shortening to it to moisten it back up also.

Starter13 Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 4:10am
post #5 of 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by cashley

If your fondant is drying and cracking you probably added too much powdered sugar to it. You can add some shortening to it to moisten it back up also.

I have a problem with fondant because either it is too sticky or too dry. I never can seem to make it work. I have never tried the Marshmallow fondant recipe though. Do you recommend it? Is it easier to make and work with than regular rolled fondant?

grandmomof1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grandmomof1 Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 4:23am
post #6 of 16