Professional Sized Cupcakes... Is There Such Thing?!

Baking By monosylabicgirl Updated 23 Jan 2012 , 7:14pm by imagenthatnj

monosylabicgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
monosylabicgirl Posted 19 Jan 2012 , 10:46pm
post #1 of 11

Hello! first of, I want to say that I'm new to cakecentral and after reading some forums, I'm really glad and already, im addicted!

im seriously thinking about opening my own cupcake shop in my hometown. I want to perfect my recipes and I really need to know if there's such thing as a professional sized cupcake pan. All the cupcake shops I've visited sell jumbo muffin cupcakes or something smaller but larger than the standard size.

Can someone please help me figure this out once and for all?!!

10 replies
msthang1224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msthang1224 Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 4:16am
post #2 of 11

Hi

I have never heard of a "professional size cupcake/cupcake pan.

Maybw some of our fellow CCrs can assist

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 4:32am
post #3 of 11

Do what you want and price according to market.

MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 3:12pm
post #4 of 11

The word professional is often misused by marketers to sell their products. For cupcakes and muffins, look at the numerous sizes available and do your market research to see what sized cupcakes customers in your region prefer.

My professional opinion: Stay away from the larger sized cupcakes.

scp1127 Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 6:27pm
post #5 of 11

If you are not going for a low price point, the tulip cups are a great alternative to the delimma. That is what I use. They can be filled higher than standards, but not so big as to be more than a serving. They are expensive for quality greaseproof.

MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 21 Jan 2012 , 6:42pm
post #6 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by scp1127