How Much Do I Charge As A Beginner?

Business By msid Updated 28 Jan 2012 , 4:11am by SweetsEnPointe

msid Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msid Posted 18 Jan 2012 , 6:58pm
post #1 of 15

I am new to cake baking/decorating, and have only made 4 cakes so far (3 of which were all in 1 weekend). So far, all my cakes have been for friend/family, and I have not been charging anything for them. I was wondering how much I should charge per cake, as most of them are fairly simple and take about half a day.

Two of my cakes were just one tier, with 3 layers of cake each and filled with ganache. They took me a total of 6 hours to bake. One was covred in MMF while the other was BC. The ingredients for each cost about $20... How much COULD I have charged?

The 3rd cake, was 3 tiers, and covered in MMF. My aunt got the top 2 tiers baked and covered in BC from a local grocery store, which cost her $35. The last tier, 11'' was made by me, and was chocolate with chocolate ganache, covered in homemade BC, and then MMF. The last tier was made the day before, as my aunt did not realize how small the other 2 tiers would be (6", 9"). The cake took me a total of 8 hours to decorate and bake, and my aunt provided me with a couple bags of icing sugar which were used for the BC and MMF. I did not charge anything else for the cake, as it was a surprise birthday present for my dear cousin.
How much could I charge?

It should be noted that I have spent quite a bit on tools for my projects, and most of my Xmas gifts consisted of mixers and cake baking supplies :$ I would like to be able to cover the cost of all my supplies, as it has now reached close to $300.

Thank you for your help!! Any tips on where to buy, money saving techniques etc. would also be helpful icon_smile.gif this has developed into an obsession for me, as I'm sure it has for many of you!

14 replies
jgifford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jgifford Posted 18 Jan 2012 , 7:31pm
post #2 of 15