Are White/yellow Cakes Really That Much Of A Pain?

Decorating By Wildgirl Updated 18 Jan 2012 , 1:27am by KoryAK

Wildgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Wildgirl Posted 17 Jan 2012 , 4:54pm
post #1 of 8

I've studied the yellow cake scratch-off thread, took notes even, I've tried several recipes from it, from major cookbooks like Toba and Whimsical Bakehouse. I've yet to find one that seems "perfect". Am I expecting too much from a yellow/white cake?? I'd love to avoid folding in beaten egg whites. But if that's what "makes" it, I'll do it. But every cake seems sort of dense. Or crumbly. Or too buttery. They might taste good.... ok, some were a little dry, but that may have been because I didn't use any kind of heating core/nail. But can't seem to find one that just works for me.

I have to make a bunch of cakes for a wedding - in less than two weeks. I'm starting to panic. I'm not a professional, just a crazy friend. I have the main show cake recipe down - they wanted my hershey's chocolate cake with peanut butter filling. Just the simple hershey's cake. (Although I have to worry about the bulging sides, finishing the frosting perfectly, and the stacking part - have sps to help with that though). At least that recipe is simple and "perfect". But why can't I find the right yellow cake? Am I expecting too much? (I'm doing the show cake chocolate & tiered, with several 9x13 sheet cakes that will be cut up in the back - not shown, so they will all be different since not everyone will want peanut butter). Why can't there be a yellow cake that turns out as perfectly and easily as the hershey's cake?? How can I do this - I have less than two weeks and I don't even have all my recipes nailed down yet?!?! icon_cry.gificon_eek.gif

7 replies
AnnieCahill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnieCahill Posted 17 Jan 2012 , 5:01pm
post #2 of 8