Help! Safari Cake For Teen!

Decorating By mamasquishy Updated 13 Jan 2012 , 8:40pm by BakedAlaska

mamasquishy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamasquishy Posted 13 Jan 2012 , 1:58pm
post #1 of 10

Hello!

I am in need of some ideas...I am making a cake for my friend's daughter, it is her 13th birthday and mom said she loves giraffes and was thinking of a safari theme. My issue is I keep getting hung up on how to do safari in teen vs baby....I thought about neon animal print but everything I have been thinking of would involve large amounts of fondant and I get complaints when I use fondant. Everyone always loves how te cake looks but doesn't like actually eating the fondant which totally ruins the satisfaction I typically get out of people enjoying my cake.

One...any design ideas or examples would be appreciated to help me get going?

Two...is there a way to make fondant less gummy and tasteless?

Three...when is it better to use gum paste over fondant?

I am still new to cake decorating so there are some things I am still learning, if anyone can help me with any of these questions, it would be most appreciated!!! Thanks!

9 replies
Debbye27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Debbye27 Posted 13 Jan 2012 , 2:19pm
post #2 of 10

Are you using homemade fondant? I make my own fondant- and it is delicious. And I love the neon animal print idea......I'm sure she will too. Is she a girly girl? You could make a cartoonish giraffe out of gumpaste that has a bow and lipstick- or some other girly features. Or even out of neon colors...

When I make figures I use 50/50 -(gumpaste and fondant) I use Nicolas Lodge's recipe for gumpaste - and I make my own fondant- it's easy and way cheaper, too. It's out of marshmellows and powdered sugar-very sweet.

What are you using for gumpaste? I started out using the Wilton mix, very untasty...

Debbye27 Posted 13 Jan 2012 , 2:25pm
post #3 of 10