Fondant - Buy Or Make From Scratch?

Decorating By annakat444 Updated 13 Jan 2012 , 7:47pm by annakat444

annakat444 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
annakat444 Posted 13 Jan 2012 , 5:52am
post #1 of 11

I'm a newbie here and I'm sure this has been discussed several times, if it has I apologize!

Just wondering what most of you do about fondant - do you buy it or make it from scratch? It's so expensive to buy, but I just made MMF for the first time and it seems difficult to get the consistency exactly right. Plus, I wasn't thrilled with the flavor (I used the top rated MMF recipe from here and added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp almond, 1/2 tsp creme bouquet). I've read a lot about Michele Foster's fondant recipe but it just seems like making home made fondant is so temperamental.

So just wanting opinions - is it really worth it? Even if you use the really nice high end fondant? Please, not trying to start a debate - just want honest opinions from people who know their stuff!

10 replies
Honeybees Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Honeybees Posted 13 Jan 2012 , 9:28am
post #2 of 11

I buy mine. I had tried making it but I didn't like how mine came out. Plus I never seem to have the time to sit down and do all that ahead of time.
I live on a tiny island in Japan, its hard to have fondant shipped her on a regular basis so I browse the local yard sale website and I guarantee every month after the Wilton class a bunch of people sell all the fondant they stocked up on before they started the class. So I tend to stock up then for less money.

SugarplumYum Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarplumYum Posted 13 Jan 2012 , 11:23am
post #3 of 11