Cake From Scratch Vs. Cake Mixes

Decorating By Luciano Updated 16 Jan 2012 , 5:10am by Annabakescakes

Luciano Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Luciano Posted 12 Jan 2012 , 2:43am
post #1 of 51

Hello CC community,

Before all, I wanted to thank you for keeping up with this great site, it really is an amazing source for cake decorating.

I would really like to know your opinion about making a cake from scratch vs. using the boxed cake mixes.
I know this topic might have been discussed and posted several times (please don't kill me).

The reason I asked is because as a newbie, I use mostly cake mixes (DH works really well for me). However I was asked by people a few times (who usually knows nothing about cake decoration) if I made the cake from scratch and they act surprised (without even trying the cake) when I tell them I used cake mixes; someone joked and told me I was a 'cheater'; of course it was a joke (or was it?) icon_redface.gif

Sometimes TV shows or professional bakers seem to crucify whoever uses a cake mix. On the other hand, I know of many people who use cake mixes all the time (even my experienced Wilton instructor)
I managed to make a great Red Velvet cake from scratch so far (thanks to this site) but this topic always makes me wonder if using a cake mix boxes is really a way of cheating?

Sorry about the length of this post...what do you guys think? icon_biggrin.gif

I welcome any recipe you would like to share icon_lol.gif

50 replies
Cupcakeboy85 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cupcakeboy85 Posted 12 Jan 2012 , 2:56am
post #2 of 51

When I first started baking I used box mixes but after awhile I decided to bake from stratch I truly believe it taste better than box mixes . In my opinion it is cheating cause you only putting in eggs, oil or wate. Some people doctored up their cake mixes by puttimng other ingredients. It's whatever you feel comfortable, I suggest to branch some more and bake from scratch and see from there. good luck!