Wwyd? Cookies Didn't Make It On Time :(

Decorating By Osgirl Updated 10 Jan 2012 , 12:54am by KoryAK

Osgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Osgirl Posted 7 Jan 2012 , 9:10pm
post #1 of 31

I am mostly a hobby baker. I have a friend who ordered decorated cookies for her DD's birthday party. She lives out of state, and we met through a parenting message board we are both on.

Anyway, I made the cookies last weekend and sent them on Tuesday. I always send cookies on Tuesdays and they arrive to their destination by Thursday or Friday. Well, today is the party and the cookies didn't arrive.

She owes me for the cost of the cookies and shipping which is about $60. I'm not really making much money off this because I am a hobby baker.

So, WWYD? I know she's super disappointed that the cookies didn't arrive on time. I am too! They've never not arrived to someone on time! I don't have a tracking number or anything like that since it's for a friend and it's a hobby (not my business). She hasn't said anything about payment; just an email today that says they are leaving for the party place and the cookies didn't arrive. I emailed back and told her that I am very sorry, disappointed, etc...and that they've never not arrived by Thursday or Friday.

So, I'm hoping she isn't thinking that she will not have to pay me anything. I mean, they take a lot of time to make, decorate, package, ship, etc...

Would it be okay if I figured out the exact cost of ingredients and just charged whatever that is? Again, I feel like I'm really not at fault and shouldn't have to do it for free completely. These things happen, right?