750 Cookies!!!! Help!!!!!

Baking By dillyjanjan Updated 12 Dec 2012 , 7:13am by lisajackusde

dillyjanjan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dillyjanjan Posted 11 Dec 2011 , 10:50pm
post #1 of 31

Hi all,

I am new to these forums so have patience with me. I recently volunteered to do cookies for a friend's wedding favor. I did not ask about the guest list. BIG MISTAKE! She told me the wedding had 250 people and that she would like each guest to have 3 cookies in a bag with "J", "&", "D" written on each cookie. THIS COMES UP TO 750 COOKIES!!! What the hell did I get myself into. I sent her a sample box with my "easiest to do" cookies which she loved but they were not decorated and she wanted them decorated. I totally regret offering my free service but I am new and I have never done a wedding before. Can someone help me with how best to undertake this task. Should I bake all the cookies and freeze them undecorated. Should I do 750 royal icing transfers. I was thinking about doing powdered sugar stenciling but I don't know if the pattern will be destroyed with the packaging. Somebody help me please. I have learnt my lesson about volunteering.

30 replies
lrlt2000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lrlt2000 Posted 11 Dec 2011 , 11:08pm
post #2 of 31

Yikes! I would just explain to her that you can do them for free if they are not elaborate and packaged, but she will have to pay for at least the materials if they are decorated and packaged. That's A LOT! Maybe there was just a misunderstanding and she doesn't expect you to do them without pay? I'd confirm by saying something along these lines.

sarahnichole975 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahnichole975 Posted 11 Dec 2011 , 11:12pm
post #3 of 31