Anyone Offer Both Box Mix And Scratch?

Business By shannon100 Updated 13 Nov 2011 , 12:35am by LoveMeSomeCake615

shannon100 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shannon100 Posted 12 Nov 2011 , 3:26pm
post #1 of 12

I'm a modified box baker. I get RAVE reviews for my cakes. Everyone loves them. However, I'm noticing a trend towards non-processed foods. I was thinking of perfecting a couple of scratch recipes and offering them as "premium cakes" if anyone wanted scratch over box. Does anyone do this? I know some of the people who order from me would rather have a cheaper box cake, but some may pay more for scratch. I would have 2 different pricing structures and would make it clear that one side starts with a box and one is all scratch.

PLEASE do not start a scratch vs box debate on this thread!! I just want to know if anyone successfully does both!!

11 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 12 Nov 2011 , 5:22pm
post #2 of 12

I use mixes for my regular cakes but when I make a 3D cake I use a scratch chocolate and vanilla recipe.It holds up better and is denser and virtually no crumbs...

nhbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nhbaker Posted 12 Nov 2011 , 6:25pm
post #3 of 12

Some of my cakes are totally scratch and some are versions of WASC. I don't specifically point out which is which to my clients (it's not a secret either, if they ask, I'll tell them). And my most popular flavors are the WASC versions.

However, I don't charge any different for them. You indicated that you would say "one is totally from scratch, and one starts with a box" so does this mean you add stuff to the box mix (like WASC recipe). If so, they why does that make those cakes any cheaper than a scratch cake? Figuring in the mix and the ingredients you add would actually make it more expensive to make than a scratch cake, correct?