Taking Care Of Your Feet When Baking/decorating

Decorating By augurey Updated 16 Nov 2011 , 9:24pm by augurey

augurey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
augurey Posted 12 Nov 2011 , 2:34pm
post #1 of 41

First, not sure if this is the correct area to post...

I know that baking/decorating involves a lot of standing/walking/etc. I'm sure everyone deals with aching feet.

My day job is nothing but sitting, so as it is, my body isn't used to being on my feet for several hours at a time. But given how much I enjoy baking, I know I have to deal with this.

However, I spent the majority of my Thursday and Friday on my feet. My feet were already so sore by Friday morning that it hurt just to put my shoes on (Throughout both days, I tried to sit when tasks allowed me to). So add in several hours more on already painful feet; which has basically left me with barely being able to walk this morning (seeing as apparently my right knee has been affected by this as well).

After thinking about it, I decided that I absolutely need new shoes. That, I think, was a big contributing factor; and now I find that there are a little genetics involved as well after speaking with my mom this morning.

But, even with new shoes and whatnot, I know that I'm still going to struggle with sore feet (which is a given due to the nature of being on your feet for so long).

Does anyone have any suggestions (aside from new shoes) on how to help reduce pain/swelling of the feet? Is there anything in particular that anyone does as a preventative measure?

Also, how about healing measures? I know I'll be soaking my feet as much as possible today (some swelling has gone down since soaking and has at least given me the ability to gimp along without needing to hold onto someone or something for support). Aside of soaking, is there anything else anyone does to help the healing process?

40 replies
Westheimer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Westheimer Posted 12 Nov 2011 , 3:02pm
post #2 of 41