Not Sure What To Do Now...

Business By SweetDreamsBoutique Updated 3 Nov 2011 , 2:10am by sweetminis

SweetDreamsBoutique Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetDreamsBoutique Posted 2 Nov 2011 , 3:22pm
post #1 of 6

I've been doing cakes/cupcakes for friends and family for almost two years now. Word has definitely been spreading about my cakes, which is awesome...however, my state won't allow cakes to be made from the home unless we have a second commercial kitchen. Long story short, I received a call last week from the dept of agriculture because someone went all the way to the top to report an "unlicensed business". Believe me when I say that it has always been my intention to open a business legally, but with not completely knowing what to do and lack of money, it has been very difficult. (I stay at home with my 3 yr old and my husband takes our one car to work every day so what little money, if any, I bring in has to go to bills). My guess is that the call was made from another bakery, since there were no complaints about my product. The county lady actually told my husband that she was very impressed with my work and they are being very helpful and supportive.