Please Can Someone Help Me Poured Sugar For Beer Bottle

Sugar Work By hails Updated 25 Oct 2011 , 7:52pm by hails

hails Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hails Posted 25 Oct 2011 , 6:33pm
post #1 of 5

Hi there hope everyone is doing well, I am making a cake for my dh Birthday
This is my first attempt at a sugar beer bottle. I have seen so many different pored sugar recipes some say with water and cream ao tartar some just have corn syrup and water, I actually tried one of the recipes that called for 1 c of sugar 1 c of corn syrup and 1 ts of water it Did not work and the bottle was sticky and did not hold form after the first day icon_sad.gif( could someone please give me the correct recipe thank you so much

4 replies
mom2twogrlz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mom2twogrlz Posted 25 Oct 2011 , 6:52pm
post #2 of 5

I have done this once, with the sugar, corn syrup, water recipe. It sounds like you didn't cook it long enough. It has to reach that hard sugar stage or it will be soft and sticky. This will darken the mixture alot, so if you are looking for a clear bottle look you will need to use isomalt. I wanted a dark beer bottle look, so it was fine for me. Good luck.

Angfastic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Angfastic Posted 25 Oct 2011 , 7:09pm
post #3 of 5

I used the equal parts corn sryup and sugar recipe as well. I used 1/2 of each. I put it in the microwave on 50% for 5-6 minutes and then on full power for 1-2 minutes. My bottles held their shape. They were a little sticky, but I read that was due to sugar absorbing moisture and if you put them in an air tight container with those silca packets they put in pill bottles that will help.

CakeRN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeRN Posted 25 Oct 2011 , 7:20pm
post #4 of 5

I got these instructions from Sweet Results. I did a beer bucket cake ( in my pics) and used this recipe.
Here are the instructions for the bottles -