Help Please Brand New To Making Tiered Cakes

Decorating By Kimberly1025 Updated 20 Oct 2011 , 2:53am by Kimberly1025

Kimberly1025 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kimberly1025 Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 9:41pm
post #1 of 7

I am making a 3 tier cake for my sons Birthday this Saturday. This is the very first time that I have even tried it. I think I already know the answer but I just want to make sure. How many layers of cake do you use in 1 tier. I am assuming 2, for example do you bake one 10" and cut it in 2, or do you bake 2 10" and place them on top of each other? Sorry for the silly question, but like I said I am brand new to it all. icon_smile.gif

6 replies
sechrestloans Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sechrestloans Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 9:55pm
post #2 of 7

I make two 10 inch and level the top off and then cut them in half to make 4 layers per tier.

carolinagirlcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carolinagirlcakes Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 9:56pm
post #3 of 7

It depends on the height of each tier you are trying to achieve. If you bake one cake and cut in half (called torte) then you will have only a 2 1/2" height. If you want a 4" height they you bake two cakes and fill then stack. I would assume that most stacked cakes are done at 4" heights. I do know that some like to do them at 3" heights.

So really it is up to you. Personally I bake two cake, fill and stack.

Brendakasey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brendakasey Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 9:58pm
post #4 of 7

Hi, I'm fairly new too, I would take a 10" and cut in 2 and put icing in between
them. Good luck. icon_smile.gif

carolinagirlcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
carolinagirlcakes Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 10:04pm
post #5 of 7

Just know that most serving sizing are based on 4" height cakes. So baking one then cutting in half and filling will result in only a 2 1/2" cake height.

kel58 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kel58 Posted 19 Oct 2011 , 10:04pm
post #6 of 7