What Would You Do? (Cake Idea)

Decorating By Bridgette1129 Updated 13 Oct 2011 , 1:57am by AnnieCahill

Bridgette1129 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bridgette1129 Posted 12 Oct 2011 , 11:19pm
post #1 of 9

Hey everyone icon_smile.gif

I am making a birthday cake for my friend next week and I am wanting to make it Seattle Sounders (Soccer team) themed. I am pretty new at decorating so I don't want to try anything TOO crazy and don't really want to use fondant.

-I am doing a buttercream transfer of the team's logo for the top of a round cake.
-His favorite flavors of cake are carrot cake, and lemon cake w/ lemon BC.
-I am wanting to do this design: http://cakecentral.com/gallery/2113887
(w/o flower) alternating lime green and blue (sounders colors) so I am thinking a buttercream would be best?

I know that carrot cake's best friend is cream cheese icing but I don't know how easy it is to decorate with besides piping on a cupcake, which is easy.

-Does plain buttercream go well with carrot cake?
-Should the 2 flavors be different sized tiers or should I stack both flavors on top of one another?
-Should I fill with BC or make a lemon BC or curd filling for the lemon layer and cream cheese for the carrot cake layer and ice the whole thing in BC?

Sorry this is long, and thanks for your help! I made a poll to make it easier!

8 replies
augurey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
augurey Posted 12 Oct 2011 , 11:49pm
post #2 of 9

I've never tried it as I do not like carrot cake, but my stepdad has always enjoyed his carrot cake with regular bc; however, he does like it best with cream cheese icing.

Could you try a crusting cream cheese icing? I used Edna De La Cruz's crusting cream cheese icing and my stepdad absolutely raved about it (I don't really know anyone else that likes carrot cake, so I'm going off his word).

I did try the crusting cream cheese icing, and I thought it was good and it worked well with decorating.