Need Help With Using Fondant

Decorating By Butterflyxo Updated 11 Oct 2011 , 1:34am by Butterflyxo

Butterflyxo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Butterflyxo Posted 10 Oct 2011 , 11:12pm
post #1 of 7

I have been decorating cakes for 12 years now and have never used fondant. I did make a purse handle out of fondant one time, I put it in refrgerator and it "flopped" icon_sad.gif Do you leave fondant cakes set out and fondant figures? Are there any tips that can help me with making fondant into different things? I would love it if anyone can help me with these questions, thanks so much in advance icon_smile.gif

6 replies
FullHouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FullHouse Posted 10 Oct 2011 , 11:23pm
post #2 of 7

To make a purse handle, you are best off adding some Tylose powder to your fondant, using a 50/50 mix of fondant & gum paste or using straight gum paste. I prefer Wilton fondant for figure and shapes, it is stiffer and holds up better than other brands (its also cheaper and generally people won't eat figures or shapes that are dried anyway so the taste isn't a factor). Let it dry before putting it in the fridge and make sure the cake is not in an airtight container (cardboard box or just set on the platter is best). If you have a very humid fridge, do not put fondant in your fridge. You can test with a piece of fondant on a cupcake to see how your fridge handles it. Also, search through the forums on here, there is a lot of wonderful information.

Butterflyxo Posted 11 Oct 2011 , 12:05am
post #3 of 7