Do You Feel Like Less If You Use Box Mixes In Your Recipe?

Decorating By Dayyi Updated 16 Oct 2011 , 9:57pm by DaDa561

mclaren Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mclaren Posted 12 Oct 2011 , 4:41am
post #61 of 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by nanefy

OK, I'm not getting the common theme here, that apparently scratch cakes are inconsistent and unreliable etc - that is simply not true - it might be true if you are not good at scratch baking, but I have never in my life used a box mix, and I aint going to lie to you, I never would. I have been baking for only 3 years (I used to be a terrible baker because I wasn't really that interested, but then got really interested and invested a HELL of a lot of time practising). I can say in the whole 3 years of baking, I haven't had a cake fail. My cakes are super moist, in fact they are often likened to gateaux.
I'm not saying that boxed recipes don't taste nice, they probably taste fine, in fact they probably taste great, but don't just presume that scratch recipes just don't measure up to box recipes, because that is blatantly not true - if a scratch recipe hasn't measured up to a box recipe, it has to be because the recipe you used was rubbish, or, dare I say it, you didn't bake it right. Regardless of whether you use boxed or scratch, there are good recipes and bad recipes, it's all about finding what is good and getting good at it.

This, too!

scp1127 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scp1127 Posted 12 Oct 2011 , 5:30am
post #62 of 114

I have no problem with how anyone chooses to bake except for one issue: When they lie to the customer.