Making And Decorating A Cake One Day In Advance

Decorating By pinkhope Updated 7 Oct 2011 , 9:38pm by icer101

pinkhope Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinkhope Posted 7 Oct 2011 , 1:46am
post #1 of 7

Hello- I am a newbie and I am making a cake for a friend for this Saturday. I wanted to make the cakes friday along with decorating it. My filling is home-made snickers buttercream and will be covered in fondant. Has anyone (non-professional baker) ever completed the cake a day before? If yes, what do I do with the cake? Do I just box it and keep it in a room temp room? The temp tomorrow will be high 60's very fall like weather. I am very nervous I want to make sure the cake still tastes fresh on saturday. Thanks in advance!! icon_smile.gif

6 replies
ajwonka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ajwonka Posted 7 Oct 2011 , 1:58am
post #2 of 7

I use Sugarshack's non-dairy buttercream to fill & cover. I always decorate 12-24 hours before pick-up. The icing seals in the moisture. If your filling or icing is perishable, though, it'll need to be refrigerated. You can put it in the fridge to firm up the icing then cover with saran and it won't mess up your icing. If wrapped super well it will stay fresh in fridge. Good luck!

RebelsLGB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RebelsLGB Posted 7 Oct 2011 , 4:56pm
post #3 of 7

I usually bake on Thursday, fill, crumb coat or Ganache & Refrigerate then decorate friday. Once I decorate I keep it at room temp if it's fondant, then Deliver Saturday morning.

I have once done everything on friday night for a saturday party and that includes making gumpaste figures & decorations. It's stressful, especially with the gumpaste decorations because you can never be sure it'll dry out enough. I was up almost the entire night, the only reason I did everything last minute was because I had been sick earlier in the week, and wanted to push anything related to making the cake as far back as possible.