Decorating A Costco Cake

Decorating By deeptsna Updated 6 Oct 2011 , 10:05am by SweetDelites

deeptsna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deeptsna Posted 5 Oct 2011 , 12:50pm
post #1 of 8

Help!!!
I will be celebrating my daughter's 2nd birthday this saturday and need your expertise in helping to turn an undecorated costco cake into a barnyard cake.I loved the beautiful barnyard cakes on this site, but I am a novice at cake making and decorating .I will be making the food for the party myself and hence dont have time or confidence to try out anything new .How can i transform a simple costco white butercream cake into a barnyard without using fondant or having to scupt anything?
I was hoping to have the cake look like the one in the picture below:
http://cakecentral.com/gallery/1841983

I am open to using food color sprays/working with buttercream.
Thanks.

7 replies
poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 5 Oct 2011 , 1:24pm
post #2 of 8

This would be a pretty easy cake to start with. You will need a buttercream recipe-and there are many on this site. I prefer Indydebi's bc, and here is a link to the recipe:
http://cakecentral.com/recipes/indydebis-crisco-based-buttercream-icing/
You will have to color the bc with gel colors (You can get some made by Wilton at Walmart). Regular liquid food colors are not concentrated enough.

The small animals, fence, weather vane, and sun are cut from fondant. You can buy packages of precolored fondant at Walmart or other stores with cake supplies. Just find a coloring book of animals or print some coloring pages from the web, and cut them out. Then use them as patterns to cut the animals from fondant.