Wedding Cake Drama

Business By l_rock Updated 7 Nov 2011 , 4:34am by happigolucki35

l_rock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
l_rock Posted 2 Oct 2011 , 11:47am
post #1 of 35

I just got an email today from a client regarding a wedding cake that was delivered last night. the client claims that the cake didn't look like the discussed design,that she isn't happy and wants to know what i'm going to do about it. i had a delivery driver drop off the cake and they accepted delivery - the only comment they gave the driver was "its not exactly what we expected " but still accepted the cake delivery.

the cake design we dicussed was a combination of 4 different designs they provided images of...i'm a bespoke baker who generally makes/designs cakes to order. i have never had a client not like the design or missed the mark before....

either i completely missunderstood what they wanted or they didn't understand what they ordered....either way i feel stuck with what to do - part of me feels like they accepted delivery so they accepted the way the cake looked... the other part of me is considering giving a partial refund to make this all go away.

34 replies
Karen421 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karen421 Posted 2 Oct 2011 , 11:54am
post #2 of 35

If they accepted the cake and served it, then I would not do a full refund. Maybe a small refund, I would talk to the client and get more feed back before I decided. Sorry that happened icon_smile.gif

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 2 Oct 2011 , 11:55am
post #3 of 35

I can understand why they might accept delivery - it's their special day and didn't know what else to do, not wanting to be totally without. In my thinking you should offer a partial refund. If the design was not exactly what they wanted they still served the cake (I'm sure) so a partial refund is all that is necessary.

btrsktch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
btrsktch Posted 2 Oct 2011 , 12:45pm
post #4 of 35