Skyscraper Cake Idea And Luster Dust Question

Decorating By ivanabacowboy Updated 13 Sep 2005 , 11:27pm by Fishercakes

ivanabacowboy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ivanabacowboy Posted 10 Sep 2005 , 1:43pm
post #1 of 8

I work in a bank. We are financing 61 stories worth of luxury condominium in Chicago. Picture here: http://www.onemuseumpark.com/home.html

This will be the largest project we have done to date so I would like to do a cake for the office to celebrate when we close on the deal. No way in heck could I do a cake 61 stories tall lol! Far too detailed for me as a novice to even attempt in BCT.

So I was thinking just to do a plain white iced cake with the logo in center (the little black blurb in the middle top of that page I linked). THAT I am pretty sure I can handle. And with the plain white background the black and gold would "pop".

What are my best options to do the logo? Royal or Colorflow? I could do the gold with luster dust. And blow up the logo to reproduce a pattern a bit larger so thats ok. But what would I do with the rest of the cake is my question.

I was thinking a simple rope or shell border in that same black and gold piped in Royal. As this is a high end luxury condo project, I am thinking that mite be the way to go. Simple yet elegant. Then brush the gold parts of the rope/shells with luster dust.

Or is my only hope of "gold" using fondant (which I would prefer to avoid as I also want the cake to taste good!)?

Can BC or rolled BC be luster dusted? Or marzipan?

So whatever medium I find that can do gold, what color do I start with before painting the luster dust? A gold icing color? Or ivory?

How much area does one of the little tubs of luster dust actually cover? Or would this cake end up costing me a luxury price?