Bumpy Uneven Fondant Help!

Decorating By purplekim91 Updated 24 Sep 2011 , 2:08am by ajwonka

purplekim91 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
purplekim91 Posted 20 Sep 2011 , 10:06pm
post #1 of 11

Hello!
I have been covering my cakes with MMF for a few years now and each time I make a cake I try a new way to get the fondant smooth and even. It seems that everytime even though I level my cakes that the sides are not smooth and I cannot get them to look even and at times they get a rippled looking effect from the different layers of cake and icing underneath. The next cake I am making will have a painted peacock design on the side and I want a nice smooth even canvas. Any tips to help my fondant look smoother and more even would be welcome!!
Thanks! icon_biggrin.gif

10 replies
jpentrack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jpentrack Posted 22 Sep 2011 , 4:03pm
post #2 of 11

have you tried a heavier crumb coat (using more bc ) are you waiting to long and letting it to crust to much ? frosting has to be very smooth when icing under fonadnt or well show all imperfections sometimes i hope this helps . icon_smile.gif

jamieq Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jamieq Posted 22 Sep 2011 , 5:53pm
post #3 of 11

In the "articles" section on CC, there is a great article on how to get rid of cake bulges. I have dealt with this problem on a few of my larger cakes...so, I too, have been finding out as much as I can to avoid this problem. It is under the "cake fixes" category. Hope this helps!!

Emmar308 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Emmar308 Posted 22 Sep 2011 , 6:06pm
post #4 of 11

How thick is your crumb of of buttercream under your fondant? Is it too thin? Also are you using a smoothing tool to smooth out the fondant?

Moovaughan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Moovaughan Posted 22 Sep 2011 , 6:21pm
post #5 of 11