How Many Times Can I Bake A Cake Today????

Baking By vgereis Updated 18 Sep 2011 , 12:04am by vgereis

vgereis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vgereis Posted 17 Sep 2011 , 10:26pm
post #1 of 6

Ugh... as the title says... I've tried baking this cake 3 times already... just to give an idea... it's the hershey's perfect chocolate cake... I want to make a beer mug cake... so was going to stack 2 or 3 6 inch cakes on top of each other, torted and iced... and then cover in fondant... I was almost laughing at how simple it was going to be compared to the last couple of cakes where I had a bunch of figures to make etc etc... (I'm still pretty new to this btw and self-taught)... anyway... made up the batch of cake.... and. as I only have one 6" pan.... I poured enough batter in to come up just under half way up the tin. The cake took slightly longer than it said in the recipe... but all went well... (at least I think so... unless the inside is bad?)... wrapped.. and in freezer... yey!

Prepped the pan again... poured rest of batter in... it also came up to just about half way... back in the oven.... set timer... and about half way through, i peered through the glass.... and the cake's still at same level! icon_confused.gif huh??? gave it a little more time... still nothing... so I thought... crap.. must be due to me using the batter that had been sitting there (is that ok to do btw?? never seemed to be a problem when making cupcakes for example.. but perhaps cake is different?)

took tin out of the oven... trashed the batter... cleaned pan.... made a new "half batch" of batter.... came out of the oven and I thought.. yey... all done... turned it out onto the wire rack.. and there's this massive hole at the bottom... and inside... batter that's not quite cooked!! (even though the top had almost crusted over!) icon_cry.gificon_cry.gificon_cry.gif