Help Make Leaf Veiner

Decorating By ShaunPepe Updated 19 Sep 2011 , 4:12pm by ShaunPepe

ShaunPepe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShaunPepe Posted 17 Sep 2011 , 2:58pm
post #1 of 4

Ok I have some silicone putty and I was plannng to make a leaf veiner this weekend, but now reading the instructions I found on CC on how to make a double sided leaf veiner (I found it in the Makeyourownmold.com forum and I have never used silicone before) I don't have the clay to use with the leaf. I also did not buy any sort of Release-dit. Is there any other alternatives I can use to these products? I live hours from any cities that would carry these products, so I am kinda stuck. Could use a foodsafe children's homemade playdoh or fondant to thicken the leaf? I am not sure what to do now.

Anyone made a silicone leaf veiner before? Any help appreciated.

3 replies
JamAndButtercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JamAndButtercream Posted 17 Sep 2011 , 3:47pm
post #2 of 4

Hi,
While I haven't made a mould for leaf veiners, I'm actually a stop motion animator by trade! and I made moulds for a film I was working on for my final year, the moulds were made using basic clay and plaster and then latex casts were taken from them.

When I made moulds we had to use a release spray because we wouldn't be able to seperate it otherwise and I can't say what would happen if you used playdoh, the playdoh I know used to go slimy after a while so I'm not really sure what would happen if it was used in a mould.
I also found this video on youtube,

Really hope this helps! Good luck! thumbs_up.gif

grams Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grams Posted 17 Sep 2011 , 4:30pm
post #3 of 4